The Director of the Year Award

is given to an outstanding director who has contributed significantly to the improvement of physical education programs in servicing the youth of his/her own school district, and/or in New York State.

Phillips, Darren 2023 (2)-min

Awards Criteria

The nominee must have a minimum of five years' experience including the job responsibilities of an HPE Director. They must be a current member and ...

Award Recipient

The 2022 Director of the Year Award Recipient is Bob Panariello.

Award Recipient History

The NYS AHPERD Director of the Year Award was established in 2017. Previous award recipients are listed below.

Award Recipients
Phillips, Darren 2023 (2)-min

2023 Recipient | Darren Phillips

Panerello, B2

2022 Recipient | Bob Panariello

Tom Graham 2020

2020 Recipient | Tom Graham

Previous Award Recipients

2020 Tom Graham

2019 Carol Roseto

2018 Dr. Tamela Ray

2017 Drew Walker