The Professional of the Year Award

is given to an outstanding administrator or teacher who is recognized as an extraordinary leader and who has contributed exceptional service to the Association and our profession.

Clements R. 2019

Awards Criteria

Nominee must have been a member of NYS AHPERD for a minimum of ten (10) years with at least five (5) years being within the last ten (10) years prior to nomination and their membership must be current and...

Award Recipient

The last recipient of the Professional of the Year Award Recipient was Rhonda Clements, Ed.D. 

Award Recipient History

The Professional of the Year Award was established in 1996. Previous award recipients are listed below.

Award Recipients
Clements R. 2019

2019 Recipient | Rhonda Clements, Ed.D.

Seymour, Clancy

2017 Recipient | Dr. Clancy Seymour

Ray, Tam

2016 Recipient | Tamela Ray

Previous Award Recipients

2014 Murphee Hayes

2013 Sandy Morley

2012 Dr. Shawn Ladda

2011 Dr. Alisa James

2010 Lisa Sherman

2009 Ron Burke

2008 Ron Whitcomb

2006 Enid Friedman

2005 Shannon Whalen

2004 Barbara Wurz

2003 Fred Apgar

2003 Ron Feingold

2001 Ellen Kowalski

2000 Sarah Doolittle

1999 Larry Debel

1998 Tony Viollis

1997 Linda Quitoni

1996 Judy Ingram