Amazing People Awards

 are given by Zones and Sections to honor individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the profession. The Amazing People Awards are presented at the Annual Conference at the Amazing People Awards Ceremony on Thursday evening.

2019 Amazing Person 3

Awards Criteria

Amazing People Award recipients are selected by the particular Zone or Section.  Current membership in NYS AHPERD is required.

Award Recipient

The 2022 Amazing People are listed below.


Award Recipient History

The Amazing People Award was established in 1995. Previous award recipients are listed below.

2022 Section Amazing People

Adapted PE & Sport Section: Allison Teachout
Aquatics Section: Helene Schmid
Coaches Section: Matt Murphy
Council of Administrators (COA): Ron Whitcomb
Dance Education Section: Dr. Christie Gonzalez-Toro
Elementary Physical Education Section: Kimberly Ferrie
Equity, Diversity & Inclusiveness Section: Casey Langendorfer
Exercise Science/Sports Medicine Section: Lisa Palmieri
Future Professionals Section: Donn Tobin
Health Education Section: Drew Miller
Higher Education/Prof Prep Section: Colleen Corsi
Middle/High School Physical Education Section: Amanda DePaolo
Recreation/Adventure Education Section: Natalie DiMeglio
Retirees Section: Frank Bartok
Technology Section: Meghan Vlad

2022 Zone Amazing People

Capital Zone: Colleen McHeard
Catskill Zone: Nicole Hartmann
Central North Zone: Steve Yarnell
Central South Zone: Jonathan Philby
Central Western Zone: Gina Potenza
Nassau Zone: Lindsay Guaman
New York City Zone: Marysol De La Cruz
Northern Zone: Mark Wilson
Southeastern Zone: Kevin Yarnell
Suffolk Zone: Justin Hertz
Western Zone: Brandi Pettit

Amazing Person History